September 26 Daily Meditation Writing: Unable

You are reading the ongoing writing process for a new book of daily reflections/meditations. Already published by this author is “Cast A Long Shadow”, 90 daily reading for our journey through life. This book is available direct from the publisher, and on Amazon.com, and as a Kindle e-book

Unable

A while ago I had a task to do around the house. At first, I thought it sounded really complicated, and I just couldn’t see how I would be able to do it.

Then I did some investigation, and watched some instructional videos, and soon realized that I could do this after all. But then I started on the first part of the task – and I could not get the very first thing done, so I became discouraged and felt that I was unable to do this simple task.

After a while, and with the help of a friend, I tried again, and this time was able to get going, and completed the project with no real problems.

I’m sure we have all had similar experiences, and this points to an interesting facet of human nature – what we are able to do, and what we are not.

Because being “unable” is not necessarily the final answer.

Right now, I am unable to run a marathon. Frankly, I have a hard time imagining me ever doing so. But I also know that, given the right motivation and enough time effort and training, then I could probably do so. The “unable” here is a reflection of where I am now, and of what I know now.

So much of life is like that, We may be unable to get a better job; unable to to change a habit we know to be destructive; unable to leave a situation we know to be harmful to us.

But all these things are constrained by what we know now – by our experiences up to date. Some things we may be literally unable to do, but for most things where we use this word, we actually mean that we just can’t see a way from here to there; can’t see a way out or a way through.

And yet – are these things really impossible, or are we just not yet able to see how to do them?

Like my home improvement project, it may be that it is just a case that we need a little help to start us off, and we can win through. If we are struggling with a bad habit, it may be that we need to admit how much it is really hurting us, before we can move on to the solution.

Whenever we come to a point in our lives where we feel we are unable to take the next step, we need to consider if we are really unable, or just unwilling to change.

Even where we might really want the change, it can seem that we will have to lose so much to get the prize, and so we are unwilling to try for our goal.

But being unable to do something right now, can be the springboard to a greater willingness to try. And when we try, there is always hope of success.

Leave a Reply

